Trying out the new kayak

May 26, 2006

Friday 26 May 2006

This hardly qualifies as a kayak trip. On the way back from the dentist I have an hour before the sun goes down to try out my new kayak. (The sun gets up and goes down way too early in Japan).

Just bought the kayak and I was desperate to get on the water in my new boat. Family watch from the shore as I gingerly push out to sea and struggle with the new spray deck. Feels pretty wobbly, oh oh. thats right you need to set up the feet rests things…

Anyway I got going and with a small crowd of locals and my family following me I try to make it look like I know what I’m doing. A quick circle around the tiny island and I feel my first surf; all 3 inches of a wave that picks me up and slides me home. What a rush.

I love it and immediately know I have made the right decision spending more than 1,000 pounds sterling on this ‘hobby’ (as my wife calls it).

One Response to “Trying out the new kayak”


  1. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.


Leave a Reply

