A photographic technique

July 31, 2006

I’m back from summer holiday.

I went kayaking near Nagoya and will write up a report just as soon as the company who I went with send me a copy of their pictures.

In the mean time I want to tell you about High Dynamic Range Images (HDRI).

In Japan shadows are everything (*) and capturing them with a camera is difficult. HDRI is a technique that I read about that I tried out for the first time on holiday over the last week. Here is my first ever effort at a HDRI:

HDRI image

Its a house in the famous Shirakawa-go (white river village). I took 3 pictures at different exposures wthout a tripod (pretty good considering) and meshed them together using photomatix.

Here are the originals:

onetwothree

While my effort here is pretty garish I still like it and definately want to experiment with this more. I have been thinking about recording some of the (less famous) rural architecture of Japan…

Leave a Reply

