Big waves

September 6, 2006

My kids were up early this morning and had the tv on. There was a weather warning for the sea – waves up to 5m in the Tohoku region, didn’t catch it all but probably the result of a typhoon building in the south. My wife says “Oh you can’t go kayaking then”, and it will change my plans but I hope I can still go. Instead of getting dropped off at one of the beachs in Oku-Matsushima with a trip round the headlands and back home (unsafe) I want to go surfing. To my usual beach – which has a good (and safe) variety of wave heights, from wee rollers to some huge dumpers in the right conditions. The tide turns at 4 so by 5 o’clock I might be getting some steepening waves. Hopefully perfect conditions.

I figure this is a good time to practice kayaking in some rougher water because the water is warm and no wind at the moment.
Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

