Trangia stoves

November 21, 2006

Last week I bought a trangia stove (27-3), the first one I have seen in Japan, at Mont Bell in Sendai. It is almost eaxctly the same as the one I owned when I was 17 climbing in the mountains of Scotland.

ts

Trangia is a Swedish Stove. It runs on Alcohol (Methylated spirits in the UK). It is very light, works in all weather and wind and is surprising powerful. I have never seen this stove in Japan before, even my mountain climbing friend Yamauchi-san didn’t know what I was talking about when I asked him. Camping Gaz seems to have a lock on the market here.

myst

That may be about to change…

I used mine to make a cup of tea, cook dinner (penne marinara) and then make cocoa all on a single filling of the burner (about 30ml of pure alcohol)

I fully recommend this stove. I also look forward to some hot tea on kayaking trips in future.

3 Responses to “Trangia stoves”

  1. Mike Says:

    Hey, how easy was it buying meths or other alcohol fuel for the trangia? Could you tell me what it’s called out there?


  2. We are travelling Japan, but can’t seem to find fuel for our Trangia? Do u know what they call the fuel and where to buy it?


Leave a Reply

