Finding shelter from 20knot winds

November 23, 2006

The wind was really blowing today. 10m/s the forecast said (thats about 20knotts to you and me). But the great thing about Matsushima is you can always find shelter.

windy

The view from the normally lake-like Matsushima bay with frequent whitecaps in the middle distance. Although it doesn’t look bad in this picture, there was no way I was putting into this wind.

palm

Fortunetaly just 1km round the headland was this bay – totally protected from the wind and very inviting.

34
…with some nice architecture…

36

as you can see from my deck I took my new hand- line (home made) for fishing, a net and an anchor. I didn’t fish much though as the best spots were in the wind and I was staying close to shore to avoid that.
40

beautiful sunny weather

42

And because of the rounded bay shape even some clapotis – these were off 6 inch waves, I would love to see what happens when the big stuff rolls around this cove.

44

exciting…

46

48

cave!

51

a deep one too

52

maybe 50m?

54

Maybe a lot more, still can’t see the end but the narrowing cave suddenly gives me the willies and I back track out again. (shame about the plastic bottles huh?)

49

It is very unlike Scotland though; 14 degrees, out of the wind, on November 23rd.

59

my lunch destination

parked

One Response to “Finding shelter from 20knot winds”

  1. John Paul Says:

    Interesting blog. Where are you in Japan? I’m just opening a sea Kayak and surfing/ adventure holiday business in Miyazaki.


Leave a Reply

