Quotations

January 9, 2007

I don’t really like quoting people. I’m sure I could find a quote that says what I think: people who quote do so to add gravitas to what they are saying, gravitas that would not be there otherwise due to either their lack of personal qualities, or the lack of intelligence in the point being made. (Although quotes help if you are not very succint like me).

But anyway my team teaching partner decided that we should get our students to memorise some ‘important’ or inspirational English in their last few classes of high school. My TT partner likes the martin Luther King speach that starts “I have a dream…”. Anyway we gave out 20 pages of quotes by a wide variety of people from the very famous to the obscure and I have to admit it was fun reading these quotes. My top 5:

“Ask, and it will be given you; seek and ye shall find; knock and it will be opened to you”

“Don’t give your advice before you are called upon”

“I am not discouraged, beacuse every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward”

“If it takes a lot of words to say what you have in mind, give it more thought”

“It is never too late to be who you might have been”

from: The Bible New Testament, Erasmus Desiderius, Thomas Eddison, Roch Dennis, Eliot George.

But what was interesting is how the quotes that the students chose reflected their personalities. No doubt the above list says something about me.

Leave a Reply

