I love winter in Japan

January 14, 2007

Ask any Japanese person “What’s your favorite season” (they like questions like this) and the vast majority will say either spring or autumn. The reason usually being “it is comfortable” (and also “the beautiful cherry blossoms” or “the beautiful fall colors”). Very few will say they like winter and even fewer, the hot and humid summers. This has been my observation at least.

Me I love summer in Japan but I also love winter. You can do things here that you simply can’t do in the UK. Today I went skiing in the morning and kayaking in the afternoon.

skiing

The nearest ski mountain is 45 minutes away from my house, I ahev at leats 10 other places within 2 hours drive. The snw quality is the bst I’ve ever skied on, fluffy, powdery snow. Its totally great.

My afternoon kayaking was very shortI just took out the new river kayak for ‘spin’ on the river / sea which is a 2 minute walk from my house.

The kayak is totally uncomfortable and I won’t use it again till the summer when I can go surfing – and wear less clothes, hence fit it better. I wouldn’t want to spend more than a couple of hours in it. I missed my sea kayak, it’s big roomy and comfortable but more importantly sea-worthy.

kayak

Interesting though how different the two kayaks are, this river kayak literally turns on a dime. The water was warmer than I had expected.

Leave a Reply

