The Tsuguru strait

January 15, 2007

The Tsuguru straight is between Honshu and Hokkaido in Japan and it’s eminently paddle-able. It is 15 to 25 miles (24 to 40 km) wide and has a strong west to east current: the Tsugaru Current. It’s been done lots of times before Jeff Allen and Hadas Fedman in 2004:

…the infamous Tsugaru Kaikyo… We had a very large following sea to paddle, as well as having to contend with the very strong Tsushima current.

I am pretty sure that the Matsushima kayak club paddle to Hokkaido across the Tsugaru straight every year. I have no idea how I know this and I can’t find anything about it online now but I am sure that I have read this somewhere before.

The Tsuguru current is a branch (80%) of the the Tsushima current which is a branch (2%) of the massive Kuroshio (the black current). I’ll post more here when I find it.

Leave a Reply

